Zoo Tycoon Community Download Directory
August 05, 2020, 06:13:50 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Ask questions here concerning information at this site or at DG  (Read 58949 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
NickTheBrick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #135 on: August 27, 2018, 04:34:23 PM »

One problem I'm having is the dinosaur that I made is taking a very long time to hatch. The egg didn't even hatch
can someone please help
Logged
Jay
Webmaster
Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 6218



WWW
« Reply #136 on: August 27, 2018, 07:51:52 PM »

If you used APExp 3.2 and based your dinosaur on an in-game dinosaur that hatches, then there should not be a problem. But if you used APE 1.x or APE 2.x, that would be a problem. There are a number of lines in the ".uca" file associated with an egg hatching. Probably the most important part are the following lines:
[y\BehaviorSet\bHatch]
f = fPlayWithSound(egg_hatch,hatch)
f = fPlay(idle)
f = fHatch()

APE 1.x and APE 2.x do not know fHatch, so they change the last line, which prevents an egg from hatching. You can edit the ".uca" to make the lines look like the above or, preferably, you can use APExp 3.2 to create your dinosaur and base it on an in-game dinosaur that hatches.

Good luck with your creating and happy Zoo Tycooning.
Logged
fern
Webmaster
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20931



« Reply #137 on: August 27, 2018, 10:42:55 PM »

Did you remember to put a scientist in with it?
Logged
vault
Preliminary Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #138 on: April 14, 2020, 08:30:08 AM »

I HAVE BUNCH OF QUESTIONS FOR JAY, (Yellowrose said you can answer my questions because of extensive knowledge of zoo tycoon games, I have zoo tycoon complete collection)

1) How can I make zookeepers work and move faster? at least I want them to move as fast as scientists with Dr. Scholl cheat. No matter what I did they are awfully slow all the time.
2) How can I make Spinosauruses and Gray Wolves like each other and being compatible with each other. I managed to make the dino not to eat the wolfy, but they are complaining about each other, they say "you go off of this exhibit" and the other say "no, u!"
3) How can I make Guests see more than 10 tiles away in exhibits? the max range is 10 tiles. I tested it and I found at nowhere that anyone made something that make them see more than 10 tiles.
4) How can I increase the zoo guest cap from 1000 to 2000+ ? and how can I manage to add a new award 2000 guest milestone award too? and how can I make the game stable enough to not to make it crash by overloading because of too many units/animations in game?
5) I still dont understand how langZA files work and where should I check to delete the files that I should delete in order to not to cause any conflict? I even don't know where to place those langZA files in order to make them work. I even don't know what things they make "working" without any problem. I need an answer to that! I also need a link for each and every known/important .dll file thats published in various websites, for some reason I cannot reach them and I couldn't found the links in this website too. since they are doing something, its better to have them until I know/learn what actually they are doing. I don't have any of them and I actually want to download those existing dll files but I cannot find them. I know their names but there is no shared link for all of them so I (or other people) can download them too..
6) how can I make a combined gift shop (from zoo tycoon, marine mania, dinosaur digs, and small gift shops like ring toss, and combine all of their gifts into one building?) that contains EVERY GIFT from every expansion pack?
7) how can I make the combined restourants that contains ALL KINDS OF FOODS from every expansion pack?
8) how can I make animals pooping slower? sometimes the amount of poo (especially in combined exhibits) is just exaggerating and staff are unable to clean them fast enough.
9) I see the waterfall like structures in other forums and u can make them via editing the terrain,
(https://zootekphoenix.com/forums/topic/10741-download-requests/page/51/?tab=comments#comment-324909)
how can I also make them? (I'm thinking to use the stronghold crusader's or tiberian sun's waterfall graphics to make them look cooler if possible) if not, where can I find it? (edit: I found it, and they are absolutely cool already lmao)

thats all the questions dear jay, for now. Thanks a lot for every effort you put into this game.

Jay edited this post April 15, 2020 to replace a link to another site's image with a link to the other site's post, so as not to use that site's bandwidth.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2020, 01:30:14 AM by Jay » Logged
Jay
Webmaster
Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 6218



WWW
« Reply #139 on: April 15, 2020, 03:44:11 AM »

Quote from: vault
1) How can I make zookeepers work and move faster? at least I want them to move as fast as scientists with Dr. Scholl cheat. No matter what I did they are awfully slow all the time.

"Work" and "move" are two different things. By default, zookeepers and scientists walk at the same speed. Their cSlowRate setting determines how fast they move when walking, and both have it set to 33. There are separate research categories that, once the research is done, will increase their cSlowRate setting by 40%. Supposedly the Dr. Scholl cheat will cause all scientists to walk twice as fast. The work speed is more complicated, because it depends on the type of work. Zookeepers and scientists check for work at the same rate. But doing work might be different. For example, when cleaning poo, the zookeeper supposedly does its clean animation 4 times, while the scientist does its clean animation 2 times. But I have not checked how long each of their clean animations are to see if that means the zookeeper cleans slower. All of these could probably be changed with a hack, but I avoid these types of hacks because these types of hacks can conflict with one another. The ".ztd" files that come with ZT should never be changed directly because ZT had to do overrides on their own to make the expansion packs work. Instead, hacks should be in their own ".ztd" files and put in folders that do not have ".ztd" files that come with ZT in them. For example, when I did the Developer Menu Hack, I recommended that a folder called "hacks" be created and I said how to make ZT see that hacks folder.


Quote
2) How can I make Spinosauruses and Gray Wolves like each other and being compatible with each other. I managed to make the dino not to eat the wolfy, but they are complaining about each other, they say "you go off of this exhibit" and the other say "no, u!"

Of course, you are talking in generalities, since the animals do not actually say those messages. Again, this would be a hack, since they are animals that come with ZT. Rather than an animal hack, I would have created a user made Spinosaurus and a user made Gray Wolf that use user made shelters (or a shelter hack). Animal compatibility is a complex subject. For perfect compatibility, they have to like the exact exhibit. Then they have to be configured to tolerate each other, which is also complex. The [cCompatibleAnimals] section in an animal's configuration says what other animals, families, or genera a specific animal likes. The Gray Wolf has an ID of 5015, Family ID of 5207 (Canine), and Genus of 5111 (Wolf). The [cCompatibleAnimals] section for the Spinosaurus does not have 5015 or 5111, but it has 5207 with a value of -20. So to make the Spinosaurus tolerate the Gray Wolf, that has to be countered by adding the following 2 lines to the [cCompatibleAnimals] section of the Spinosaurus:
v = 5015
v = 20
Or if you want the Spinosaurus to tolerate all wolfs instead:
v = 5111
v = 20
Or if you want the Spinosaurus to tolerate all canines, the following pair of lines would be removed:
v = 5207
v = -20
A similar thing would have to be done in the [cCompatibleAnimals] section of the Gray Wolf. The Spinosaurus has an ID of 5091, Family ID of 5216 (Dinosaur), and Genus ID of 5141 (Spinosaur). To make the Gray Wolf tolerate the in-game Spinosaurus, the following 2 lines would have to be added to the [cCompatibleAnimals] section of the Gray Wolf:
v = 5091
v = 20
Or if you want the Gray Wolf to tolerate any Spinosaurus, including user made ones:
v = 5141
v = 20
Or if you want the Gray Wolf to tolerate all dinosaurs, remove the following pair of lines:
v = 5216
v = -20


Quote
3) How can I make Guests see more than 10 tiles away in exhibits? the max range is 10 tiles. I tested it and I found at nowhere that anyone made something that make them see more than 10 tiles.

The distance might actually be 20 tiles. Again, this would be a hack. Guest hacks in particular should be avoided unless they are community wide ones. At one time, designers were creating new working benches, but those are guest hacks and they conflicted with one another, causing guests to get stuck. The tile distance a guest can supposedly see, assuming no obstructions, is half the cSearchRadius setting.


Quote
4) How can I increase the zoo guest cap from 1000 to 2000+ ? and how can I manage to add a new award 2000 guest milestone award too? and how can I make the game stable enough to not to make it crash by overloading because of too many units/animations in game?

Most likely, overloading ZT with a lot of animations would cause it to run slow rather than a crash. And when it starts to run slow would be based on how powerful one's computer is. Making a new award is very complex, involving creating a ".scn" file and adding messages to a ".dll" file, which involves a ".dll" editing program. As for changing the maximum number of guests, the following post at Zookeeper's Lounge says how to change it:

http://www.lunamanar.com/zklounge/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=123#p36958


Quote
5) I still dont understand how langZA files work and where should I check to delete the files that I should delete in order to not to cause any conflict? I even don't know where to place those langZA files in order to make them work. I even don't know what things they make "working" without any problem. I need an answer to that! I also need a link for each and every known/important .dll file thats published in various websites, for some reason I cannot reach them and I couldn't found the links in this website too. since they are doing something, its better to have them until I know/learn what actually they are doing. I don't have any of them and I actually want to download those existing dll files but I cannot find them. I know their names but there is no shared link for all of them so I (or other people) can download them too..

"lang....dll" files, such as langZA03.dll, contain messages for ZT to show. All "lang....dll" files would go in ZT's main folder. But a number of old "lang....dll" files conflicted with the ZT expansion packs and would cause sporadic crashes. There is a topic at Zookeeper's Lounge that mentions various "lang....dll" files, although it is slightly out-of-date:

http://www.lunamanar.com/zklounge/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=1974

Some "lang....dll" files can only be gotten by being a member of their site and some "lang....dll" files are not currently available. The "lang....dll" files that are in the open are the one at Zookeeper's Lounge and those at the Zoo Tycoon Designer Guild, although at least one is slightly out-of-date:

http://www.lunamanar.com/zklounge/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=816

http://www.ztcdd.org/DG/index.php?board=235.0


Quote
6) how can I make a combined gift shop (from zoo tycoon, marine mania, dinosaur digs, and small gift shops like ring toss, and combine all of their gifts into one building?) that contains EVERY GIFT from every expansion pack?
7) how can I make the combined restourants that contains ALL KINDS OF FOODS from every expansion pack?

The ring toss is not a gift shop; it is a game that can award a gift as a prize. It is not recommended to have a gift shop that has all possible gifts or a restaurant that has all possible foods. The building info window inside ZT can only show 5 sold items at the most. And I prefer to have no more than 4 sold items in a single building because the buildings in the original ZT contained no more than 4 sold items.


Quote
8) how can I make animals pooping slower? sometimes the amount of poo (especially in combined exhibits) is just exaggerating and staff are unable to clean them fast enough.

This is another complex subject. If I remember correctly, the cDirtyIncrement setting for each animal says how quickly the animal reaches the need to poo. But there are many factors that can cause a lot of poo. If an animal does not like something, they reach the need to poo more quickly. And one thing they do not like is poo. So others pooing can cause an individual animal to poo faster. Some animals take longer to get upset about something than other animals. Also, the more animals in an exhibit, the more poo that is produced.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2020, 03:54:04 AM by Jay » Logged
fern
Webmaster
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20931



« Reply #140 on: April 15, 2020, 04:33:00 AM »

He did not answer 9.

9. Zoo tycoon did at one point intend to create waterfall terrain but changed its mind. There is no graphic in the game to link to. I suspect like some other things it was too complicated. Any waterfalls you see in screenshots are fences. Both genki and I created sets. These are available at ZooTek.
Logged
ZooBanditGal
Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #141 on: May 09, 2020, 02:44:44 AM »

Microsoft Windows versions are often not compatible with one another. All have mistakes in them. The Zoo Object List Program was written in C and does not use Java. Among other tests, I tested the Zoo Object List Program in 64-bit Windows 7 Home Premium. It works, but the Windows 7 test did not work as well as the Windows XP test. In Windows 7, after I run checkzoo and chkzoos the first time, if I right-click on a zoo name and select "Open with", it allows me to choose checkzoo or chkzoos. But neither of those work. It opens up Command Prompt windows very briefly and never creates a ".lst" file. Instead, I have to right-click on a zoo name, select "Open with", click "Choose default program", and choose checkzoo or chkzoos from that window. That sounds different than the problem you are experiencing, since you do have chkzoos.lst created. There are 2 approaches you can try. In 2014, I made slight changes in checkzoo.bat to try to get around Microsoft Windows incompatibilities. It is attached. Rename your current checkzoo.bat to checkzoo-old.bat. Then extract checkzoo.bat from the attached checkzooUpdate20140127.zip and put it in the same folder as your current checkzoo.bat. Then use this updated checkzoo to see if that allows you to get a checkzoo.lst for your zoo. If that does not work, you can try running the Zoo Object List Program via Command Prompt. Put zooobjec.exe, ZlListSm.csv, and your zoo into the folder C:\ZT-utils. Open a Command Prompt window. Type the following 2 lines, pressing the "Enter" key after each line:
cd     \ZT-utils
zooobjec.exe     your-zoo-name.zoo     >checkzoo.lst

For example, if your zoo is ZKLZoo.zoo, the second line would be:
zooobjec.exe     ZKLZoo.zoo     >checkzoo.lst

There should now be a checkzoo.lst file in the C:\ZT-utils folder and hopefully checkzoo,lst has the zoo object list for the zoo. If it does not, then hopefully the Command Prompt window has messages saying what the problem might be.


Hi Jay,

Thank you for help, information & suggestions.  I never considered OS Bugs, I just blamed it on 64bit. 

I tried your suggestions with your revised .bat file.  In both cases, again, you could still see the information compile in the window. The difference now was that the generated checkzoo.lst file was completely blank instead of the three rows of dashes.

So I sifted through my 'computer graveyard' & found a Windows XP Media Center Edition Laptop.  It actually has Zoo Tycoon CC & ZT-Utils still on it.     I'll just update my folders & use that system to run your program before I archive the zoo.  Then, I can also still use the Animal Configuration Checker if I need it.  I'll hang on to the new .bat file, it may come in handy down the road.

I wish I had thought of the laptop before I bothered you.  I was going to install the program on my Husbands system, but in December his motherboard gave out & he came home with a new Windows 10 system. (It might have worked, but I haven't fallen in love with Win10 yet...if ever.)



Thanks again for your help, & for all the things you do to help others.



Greetings!!   Well here we are 3 years after the above posts.  My Windows XP Laptop bit the dust, so I tried your command prompt solution for Checkzoo on my 64bit Win7 Ultimate Desktop & it worked perfectly.
Next I guess I need to try it on my Win 10 laptop, but at least I have my Win7 machine to fall back on.  (Disconnected it from the internet since support ended.)

Just wanted to say  one more time!
Logged
VNDragon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #142 on: July 05, 2020, 02:32:25 PM »

Hi, I got two designing questions that have been bugging me for a while.

1/ I have recently finished redesigning the dinosaurs' purchase icons to match with their new terrain from P.Rex's famous NoGrassPls hack. However, P.Rex also made 3 bonus Ice Age animals that need new purchase icons as well. Each of these animals only has a text file, a .uca, and a sound file. Every other file that they need was linked straight to the files of the original animal on which they are based on, which makes creating a new purchase icon or recoloring the animal impossible. Is there a way to recode them so they would use their own animation and icon files?  


2/ How does one resize an animal in Zoo Tycoon? I'm thinking of something like tetsuiga's Megalodon, which is an upscaled great white.
Logged
Jay
Webmaster
Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 6218



WWW
« Reply #143 on: July 05, 2020, 05:12:46 PM »

Welcome to the Zoo Tycoon Community Download Directory.

Quote from: VNDragon
How does one resize an animal in Zoo Tycoon? I'm thinking of something like tetsuiga's Megalodon, which is an upscaled great white.

As far as I know, Zoo Tycoon does not have the ability to resize an individual animation in a zoo. So designers use graphics programs to resize images frame by frame, which is not easy. Most designers use 2D graphics programs. I use the free and open source programs GIMP and ImageMagick. A few designers use 3D modeling programs.


Quote from: VNDragon
I have recently finished redesigning the dinosaurs' purchase icons to match with their new terrain from P.Rex's famous NoGrassPls hack. However, P.Rex also made 3 bonus Ice Age animals that need new purchase icons as well. Each of these animals only has a text file, a .uca, and a sound file. Every other file that they need was linked straight to the files of the original animal on which they are based on, which makes creating a new purchase icon or recoloring the animal impossible. Is there a way to recode them so they would use their own animation and icon files?

Yes, it is possible to change an existing animal to have their own animation and icon files. I use the program Zoot to extract or load ".png" graphics files from and to ZT image files:

http://www.ztcdd.org/DG/index.php?topic=4773.msg18197#msg18197

When I create new icons for a land animal, I use Zoot to extract one of the frames from the E view of the animal's stand animation. Then I use a graphics program to reduce the size of the image. If I am creating a new purchase menu icon, I add the image to a background image. If I am creating an icon for ZT's animal list, I do not add the image to a background image. If needed, I create the necessary folders in the ztd structure. Animal purchase menu icons are in ic...... type of folders. Animal list icons are in ls...... type of folders. Plaque images are in pl...... type of folders. Then I use Zoot to load and position the image. If needed, I create the ".ani" files in the folders. Those files are text files. So WordPad (not Notepad) could be used to create them. I copy ".ani" files from something in ZT and then use a program like WordPad to change them for my purposes. Sometimes changing icons will leave older ".pal" files in the ztd structure that can be deleted. If I had to create new folders, I then change or add Icon, cListImageName, or cPlaqueImageName settings in the ".uca" file. All of this might sound like a lot of work, but it actually does not take much time once one gets experience doing it.

Although icons do not take much effort once one has experience, as mentioned above, it is not easy to make new animations. If a person is changing only the characteristics, icons, plaque, animal info, or sounds of a ZT animal, then it is most efficient to link to ZT's animations directly instead of having a copy of the animations. But if one does create new animations, Zoot can be used to load and position the animations, WordPad can be used to create ".ani" files, and the Animations sections in the ".uca" file can be changed to use those animations.
Logged
VNDragon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #144 on: July 05, 2020, 07:15:19 PM »

As far as I know, Zoo Tycoon does not have the ability to resize an individual animation in a zoo. So designers use graphics programs to resize images frame by frame, which is not easy. Most designers use 2D graphics programs. I use the free and open source programs GIMP and ImageMagick. A few designers use 3D modeling programs.

I see. I do have GIMP but it does sound like an arduous task that I couldn't justify spending time doing at the moment.

Quote
If needed, I create the ".ani" files in the folders. Those files are text files. So WordPad (not Notepad) could be used to create them. I copy ".ani" files from something in ZT and then use a program like WordPad to change them for my purposes. Sometimes changing icons will leave older ".pal" files in the ztd structure that can be deleted. If I had to create new folders, I then change or add Icon, cListImageName, or cPlaqueImageName settings in the ".uca" file. All of this might sound like a lot of work, but it actually does not take much time once one gets experience doing it.

Although icons do not take much effort once one has experience, as mentioned above, it is not easy to make new animations. If a person is changing only the characteristics, icons, plaque, animal info, or sounds of a ZT animal, then it is most efficient to link to ZT's animations directly instead of having a copy of the animations. But if one does create new animations, Zoot can be used to load and position the animations, WordPad can be used to create ".ani" files, and the Animations sections in the ".uca" file can be changed to use those animations.

Thank you. That .ani file was the key! The animals didn't use my custom icons earlier because I didn't edit the .ani file in the ic... folder. New animation aside, I take it that you would still need to link the animal to separate model/animation files and a .pal file if you want to recolor the animal? (although I'm still not sure on how to make the animals use a new .pal file. Changing the lines in the .uca and renaming the desired .pal file to the animals' APE ID don't seem to do the trick)

A new problem I'm running into now that the animals can use my new purchase icons is those transparent grains when I import the new icon file in. These grains almost always appear when I import a new icon file, but I used to be able to fix them by exporting the file again, then fill those grains in with colors already present around them to maintain the number of colors in the file. That trick doesn't seem to work well for these tundra animals:

Logged
Jay
Webmaster
Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 6218



WWW
« Reply #145 on: July 05, 2020, 09:20:34 PM »

Quote from: VNDragon
New animation aside, I take it that you would still need to link the animal to separate model/animation files and a .pal file if you want to recolor the animal? (although I'm still not sure on how to make the animals use a new .pal file. Changing the lines in the .uca and renaming the desired .pal file to the animals' APE ID don't seem to do the trick)

Yes, animation files and at least 1 ".pal" file are needed to do a recolor. It was a bad design choice by Blue Fang. They should have had a setting in the ".ani" file to say which ".pal" to use for the animation folder. But instead, the ".pal" file name and path are inside each animation file. Since animation and ".pal" files are binary files, tools such as Zoot, APE, and ZT Studio are needed to create the animation and ".pal" files in the format that ZT expects, which includes putting the links to the ".pal" files inside the animation files.

There are many approaches to recoloring animals. I use Zoot and APExp 3.2 for things I do. But those tools are older tools. They create a ".pal" file for each animation file. Jeff's ZT Studio allows creating a single ".pal" file for all animations of an animal. Also, one cannot control the order of the colors in ".pal" files created by Zoot and APE. That means when an animal is recolored, either all the animations have to be loaded again, or a "try and hope it works" technique has to be used. But Jeff's ZT Studio can reload ".pal" files without changing the order of the colors in the ".pal" files. Other than starting ZT Studio, I do not have experience using it because my computer is old and requires to be run in certain ways in order to get the newer versions of .NET working, which are needed by ZT Studio. But for people creating ZT animals or recolors, I recommend people to look at ZT Studio. If you do, be sure to also look at its Wiki, since that Wiki talks about recolors and color palettes. A link to the ZT Studio site is in its listing post here:

http://www.ztcdd.org/DD/index.php?topic=10495.0


Quote from: VNDragon
A new problem I'm running into now that the animals can use my new purchase icons is those transparent grains when I import the new icon file in. These grains almost always appear when I import a new icon file, but I used to be able to fix them by exporting the file again, then fill those grains in with colors already present around them to maintain the number of colors in the file.

There are many things that can cause the grains. Your general approach to fix them is correct. Zoot and APE use the top leftmost pixel as what color to change to transparency in images. So designers set that pixel to magenta, and make sure there are no other magenta pixels in the image unless those pixels are also to be changed to transparency by Zoot and APE. The images should be saved as ".png" files in the RGBA or RGB format. Any other type of file or format can cause problems. If RGBA format is used, transparent pixels are also saved in the image. But Zoot and possibly APE look at what the pixel colors used to be for transparent pixels. So when saving ".png" files in graphics programs, the option to also save the background colors in the ".png" file should be used and one has to make sure those background colors (ie, the colors of the pixels before they were made transparent) are the same color, usually magenta. Some tools in graphics programs will change that background color to black, but black is often used as an actual color in images. So one has to make sure the background color of the transparent pixels are still something like magenta. Because of this, many designers do not use transparency in the graphics programs. Although it is more work, before I save a ".png" file in GIMP, I do a Select by Color, change the threshold to 0, select a transparent pixel, do a color fill of the selected region to Magenta, and press the Delete key to change the Magenta back to transparency. That way I know the background color of the transparent pixels is Magenta when I save it into a ".png". ZT does not understand opacity in ZT images. Sometimes when coloring in a graphics program, the graphics program will blend colors together using opacity. That has to be avoided.
Logged
VNDragon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #146 on: July 05, 2020, 11:29:23 PM »

I see. I will take a look at ZT Studio when I have more time.

The magenta dot trick though, works marvelously! Thank you for the tip!

Logged
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.127 seconds with 20 queries.